Structural Steel Regulations: Why We Adhere to BS EN 1090 Execution Class 2

As specialists in structural and architectural steel for residential and commercial buildings, Bromsgrove Steel is BS EN 1090 and UKCA certified.

When you partner with Bromsgrove Steel, you can be sure your structure complies to high quality and safety standards thanks to our accreditation statuses.

What Is BS EN 1090?

BS EN 1090 is a standard throughout Europe that ensures structural and construction steel and aluminium products meet quality and safety requirements for use in permanent structural applications.

This steel regulation plays a vital role in ensuring the structural integrity and safety of steel and aluminium products used in construction.

Due to the nature of structural steel, and the potential for it to cause harm if it fails, adhering to these standards is a requirement. In order to prove your products comply with BS EN 1090, they must be CE or UKCA marked – or the products will not be able to be traded legally within Europe.

BS EN 1090: Execution Classes

The BS EN 1090 accreditation is classified by several execution classes. Execution classes relate to the level of risk associated with the structure being built.

Manufacturers within the steelwork industry must only supply structural steelwork within their execution class.

  • Execution Class 1 is for structures with the least risk to human life, using steel up to strength class S275 and aluminium alloys.
  • Execution Class 2 is the most common, suitable for buildings of 2 to 15 floors using steel up to S700. Bromsgrove Steel is accredited to Execution Class 2.
  • Execution Class 3 is for structures with over 15 floors, as well as bridges, using steel up to S700.
  • Execution Class 4 is for the highest risk structures where failure could have catastrophic consequences.

Each class signifies the complexity and potential consequences of a structure's failure, guiding the materials and construction processes to ensure safety and reliability.


What is CE/ UKCA Marking?

The CE/UKCA marking is a symbol of conformity and quality assurance for products sold in the UK and Europe, ensuring uniformity and safety standards. It signifies that the product meets all the necessary requirements and regulations for sale in these markets.

The CE mark is used in Europe, while the UKCA mark was introduced in the UK as of January 2021.

It is crucial for manufacturers to ensure that their products bear the correct marking to demonstrate compliance with the necessary aluminium and steel regulations and to provide confidence to consumers about the quality and safety of the product.

BS EN 1990: Requirements for Safety

BS EN 1990 is a cornerstone in the development of Eurocodes, which includes BS EN 1090.  The BS EN 1990 outlines the structural design requirements to which BS EN 1090 must be executed.

BS EN 1990 includes:

  • The principles of limit state design
  • Basic variables
  • Structural analysis
  • Design, assisted by testing


Working to BS EN 1090 Execution Class 2, Bromsgrove Steel adheres to industry standards for the fabrication and assembly of structural steel and aluminium components, providing UKCA marked products.

This certification forms an essential part of our core offering, and we’re dedicated to maintaining these standards for peace of mind in the structural integrity and safety of your construction projects.

At Bromsgrove Steel, we are a structural steel fabrication specialist. We are BS EN 1090 certified, ensuring that the products we manufacture and sell to you are CE/ UKCA marked.

Steel construction view from below.